Konstanty Tyszkiewicz

Konstanty Tyszkiewicz was born on February 5, 1806. His early childhood was spent here in Lahojsk among these majestic and mysterious hills. There was mystery in numerous legends that ignited the imagination through the stories about national history which his father and mother knew well. Perhaps, even at that time he dreamed of solving the mysteries left by ancestors. Konstanty got a good education when he studied in popular educational institutions of that time: the Zabelsk Dominican College (now the Verkhnyadzvinsk district) and the Jesuit College in Polatsk. There were excellent libraries, classrooms with rare school supplies and talented teachers. And in 1823 he joined the law faculty of Vilnius University. Then it was a hard time for the University. A judicial inquiry into the case of privy organizations of Philomaths and Filarets was held. Dozens of students were arrested and they waited for deciding their fate behind thick walls of Vilna monasteries converted into prison cells. Among them was also Adam Mickiewicz with his close friends.

After graduating from the University, Konstanty Tyszkiewicz served in the Ministry of Finance in Warsaw for eight years and then he retired. He was thirty years old, when he returned to the patrimonial estate - to Lahojsk. There he carried out economic reforms by applying the theoretical knowledge and thinking of what he saw in the countries of Europe, where he was on official business from time to time. A few years later  the first positive results  appeared, so the Tyszkiewicz brothers wrote in 1847:

In Barysaw region a township Lahoisk is known by its manufacturing. A linen cotton textile factory has already reached a certain perfection: both coarse-textured and fine-textured fabrics are produced here. Besides foreigners invited from Germany, 80 men and 5 women work at the factory. Locally produced flax yarn is purchased and cotton yarn is brought from Manchester. The second noteworthy production is the foundry that provides people with iron objects necessary for household use. Scrap metal is melted in cast iron. Samples show its high quality.

Канстанцін Тышкевіч

Konstanty Piewicz Tyszkiewicz

But not economic activity became the main occupation of Konstanty Tyszkiewicz. Most of the time, forces and means were given to other addiction and more exactly to the purpose of the whole life – to studying of the history of a native land. A former financial officer started trying to unravel the secrets of the historic monuments which he had seen since childhood: mounds, sites of ancient settlements, ruins of Lahojsk district. Research territory gradually expanded and covered many areas of central Belarus. He spent his summer exploring the archeological monuments, studying the nature and the peasant way of life.

Надмагільны камень Канстанціна Тышкевіча

Konstanty's Gravestone on the territory of  the catholic church in Lahojsk (the photo was taken 21.06.1960)

Every summer, Konstanty used to undertake scientific journeys through the native land. These were truly scientific investigations, but not amateur ones. He used the techniques that eventually became mandatory, without which in modern archeology no one researcher could do any investigation: diary-keeping, topographical planning. The birth of Belarusian archeology as a science is connected with the name of Konstanty Tyszkiewicz. Materials of researches of hundreds of monuments developed into the monumental works: O kurhanach na Litwie i Rusi Zachodniej (1868), Wiadomości historyczne o zamkach, horodyszczach i okopiskach starożytnych na Litwie i Rusi Litewskiej (1859). And the materials that were presented by him at the archaeological exhibition in Moscow aroused considerable interest of scientists. The Moscow Archaeological Society elected him an Honorary Member. Scientists from other countries were interested in the works of the Belarusian researcher as evidenced by membership in the Ethnographic Association of Eastern America, the Paris Geographical Society.

Канстанцін Тышкевіч

Konstanty Tyszkiewicz on the flyleaf of the book "The Neris and its Banks''

In the fifties Konstanty Tyszkiewicz conceived a grandiose scientific project - a journey-cruise on the Vilia (Neris) river from source to mouth to study nature, ethnography and the surrounding grounds. A special fleet was built by him, and in 1857 Konstanty Piewicz and his assistants made this journey. He visited almost three hundred localities trying to gather the maximum amount of information. In 1871, unfortunately, just three years later, after his death, the book "The Neris and its Banks'', dedicated to the results of the expedition, was published. The feeling of admiration and worship of the author doesn't leave while reading the book. We feel admiration not only because of the unique information collected and processed by him. "The Neris and its Banks'' - the pride in the native land, a declaration of love for the land, anxiety for its destiny. This is a kind of a textbook on patriotism.

With all my heart I love the land that has given me life, which feeds bread in old age and does not refuse to give you the last earth-house. Each of us, who at least has a little strength, is obliged to make his own contribution to native land, science.

This conviction of Konstanty Tyszkiewicz was the conviction of his younger brother Eustachy too.

абвык

Константин Тышкевич

Константин Тышкевич родился 5 февраля 1806 года. Раннее детство его прошло здесь, в Логойске, среди этих величественных и таинственных холмов. Таинственность жила в многочисленных легендах, волнующих воображение рассказами и отечественной историей, которую хорошо знали и отец, и мать. Возможно, уже тогда он мечтал разгадать тайны, оставленные предками. Константин получил хорошее образование, когда учился в популярных тогда учебных заведениях: в Забельской (сейчас Верхнедвинский район) доминиканской школе и Полоцком Иезуитского коллегиуме. Здесь были прекрасные библиотеки, кабинеты с редкими пособиями, талантливые преподаватели. А в 1823 году он поступил на юридический факультет Виленского университета. Университет переживал тогда трудное время. Шло следствие по делу тайных студенческих организаций филоматов и филаретов. Десятки студентов были арестованы и ожидали решения своей участи за толстыми стенами виленских монастырей, переделанных в тюремные камеры. Среди них был и Адам Мицкевич с ближайшими друзьями.

После окончания университета Константин Тышкевич на протяжении восьми лет служил в министерстве финансов в Варшаве, а затем вышел в отставку. Ему было тридцать лет, он вернулся в родовое гнездо — в Логойск. Занялся хозяйственными реформами, применяя свои теоретические знания и вспоминая увиденное в странах Европы, где бывал по служебным делам. Через несколько лет появились первые положительные результатом, так писали братья Тышкевичи в 1847 году:

Местечко Логойск известно в Борисовском повете мануфактурами. Фабрика льняных и хлопчатобумажно-бумажных тканей достигла уже определенной стенени совершенства: ткани выпускаются как грубые, так и тончайшие. Кроме иностранцев, приглашенных из Германии, работают 80 мужчин и 5 женщин. Льняная пряжа закупается местная, а хлопчатобумажная привозится из Манчестера. Вторым, заслуживающим внимания производством, является литейное производство, которое обеспечивает население нужными в хозяйстве железными предметами. На чугун переплавляется металлолом. Пробы показывают высокое качество.

Константин Тышкевич

Константин Пиевич Тышкевич

Но всё же не хозяйственная деятельность стала главным занятием Константина Тышкевича. Основное время, силы и средства отдаются другому пристрастию, а точнее, цели всей жизни — изучению истории своего края. Бывший финансовый чиновник начинает пытаться разгадывать тайны тех исторических памятников, которые он видел с детства: курганов, городищ, развалин Логойщины. Постепенно ареал исследований расширяется и охватывает многие места центральной Беларуси. Лето он проводит, исследуя археологические памятники, изучая природу и быт крестьян.

Могильный камень Константина

Могильный камень Константина на территории Логойского костела (фото сделано 21.06.1960)

Каждое лето Константин привык проводить научные путешествия по краю. Это были действительно научные, а не любительские исследования. С применением методик, которые со временем станут обязательными, без которых в современной археологии не обходится ни один исследователь: ведение дневников, составление топографических планов. С именем Константина Тышкевича связано зарождение белорусской археологии как науки. Материалы исследований сотен памятников оформились в монументальные работы: «О курганах в Литве и Западной Руси», «Исторические сведения о замках, городищах и курганах в Литве и Руси Литовской». Вызвали интерес ученых и представленные им материалы на археологической выставке в Москве. А Московское археологическое общество избрало его своим почетным членом. Работами белорусского исследователя интересуются и в других странах, и свидетельство тому — членство в этнографическом товариществе Восточной Америки, Парижском географическом обществе.

Константин Тышкевич

Константин Тышкевич на форзаце книги «Вилия и ее берега»

В 50-е годы Константин Тышкевич замышляет грандиозный научный проект — путешествие по Вилии от истоков до устья для изучения природы, этнографии, прилегающей территории. Им была сооружена специальная флотилия, и в 1857 году Константин Пиевич с помощниками совершил это путешествие. Он побывал почти в трехстах населенных пунктах, стремясь собрать максимальное количество сведений. В 1871 году, к сожалению, уже через три года после его смерти, вышла книга, посвященная итогам экспедиции: «Вилия и ее берега». Когда читаешь книгу, не оставляет чувство восхищения и поклонения перед ее автором. Не только за те уникальные сведения, которые им собраны и обработаны. «Вилия и ее берега» — гордость за родную землю, признание ей в любви, беспокойство за ее судьбу. Это своеобразный учебник по патриотизма.

Всем сердцем люблю землю, что дала мне жизнь, которая в старости кормит хлебом, которая не откажет в последнем приюте. Каждый из нас, кто хоть немного имеет силы, обязан для своей земли, для науки внести свою долю.

Это убеждение Константина Тышкевича было и убеждением его младшего брата Евстафия.

Людмила Трепет

Комментарии

 
# 11.01.2011 13:34
Ці ведае хто, куды сыходзяць корні Тышкевічаў....ці жывыя яго нашчадкі сёння...хто яны і дзе жывуць???
Ответить
 
 
# Светлана 08.01.2017 22:56
Я имею честь носить эту фамилию. Пытаюсь найти сведения о своих предках.Хочу выяснить,как фамилия попала в Гомельскую область. Кто знает ,дайте ориентировку,по жалуйста.
Ответить
 

Добавить комментарий

Защитный код
Обновить

Главная страница - Тышкевичи - Род - Константин Тышкевич