The Tyszkiewicz Park in Logoysk

The park was founded along with the construction of the palace by Pius Tyszkiewicz from 1814 to 1819. Historical features of the territory existence of the castle during the Kievan Rus period (XI–XII cc.) contributed to the construction of the park. The park was located on a high (up to 25 meters above the floodplain) ground of the river Hayna and occupied an area of 1.5 hectares. The principles of the opening of the distant prospects for the river Hayna and the use of the remains of the former castle fortifications from a moat (in the past 4–5 meters depth, 16–18 meters width) were used as the basis for planning. They surrounded the courtyard in a semicircle.

The old hydrological system was disrupted long ago. Now, after reconstruction, water is pumped from the river Hayna into the moats and a fountain. A pond was created in the widest part of the former moat. A ground swell, covered with trees, remains one of the most expressive elements of the park; the trail with the views of the surroundings passes through it.

Trees growing on the swell slopes form a colorful scope of prospects. Views over the central part of the park with the ruins of the palace are seen from the northern part of the swell that has a form of a sharp ridge. A round pond with a fountain, which completes the castle moat, is located closer to the river. Earlier there was a water spring. On the other side of the swell there is a glade-hollow, formed in connection with the extension of the castle’s courtyard. Nowadays the glade has changed due to the planting of the Canadian, Maryland poplars tree and Ash-leaf Maple.

Map of Logoysk Park

Map of Logoysk Park

The former castle courtyard is rather large, it occupies the highest part of the terrace, which ends abruptly near a floodplain.
The crest of the terrace is cut down and strongly grasped by root systems of old trees. Below, the floodplain is always wet, overgrown with alder. The yard territory is cosy and due to the prospects it’s visually connected with Hayna and Logoysk. The accent of prospects was St. Nicholas Church (1824),and further on, on the hill, surrounded by old maples, Catholic Church of St. Casimir (The Tyszkiewicz burial-vault) was seen. The main facade of the building was oriented towards the park.

The park stretched for 700 meters along the right bank of the river Hayna. He had no clear composition, a narrow alley passed between parks and gardens. The alley had two gates with two entrance lodges. One of the gate lodges preserved till nowadays.

Grocery store in the former lodge

Grocery store in the former lodge

Towards the river the two-beam perspective was used as the basis for the park planning. One of them passed through the glade, which was surrounded by white poplars on one side and by fir-trees on the other that created a lighting effect. Two semi-circular groups of lime trees were located by the river Gayna, in the form of a horseshoe. Near the one there was an arbour.

An old wooden park bridge over the river Hayna

An old wooden park bridge over the river Hayna

The park territory between glades near the palace was slightly elevated. It was taken up by flower beds, and closer to the river-by the tract of trees. This is the most picturesque, well-preserved part of the park. A forest tract joined the plantations of young trees along the floodlands. There was a small pond. It had a decorative value, there was an arbour on its bank, and nearby was a small glass-factory.

Park Scheme of 1989

Park Scheme of 1989

Starting at the palace the walking route passed through the trees along the floodlands. Its direction was also connected with water springs, which formed the beauty of the park. No one knows how many there were of them; it is said that there were so many water springs as park paths. Springs filled with water ancient moats, the pond and the river Hayna. Their sound was heard all over the park, sources didn’t just babble, they sang. The spring water had medicinal qualities. The park is remarkable for its exclusive variety of plantings: about 300 names of trees and shrubs.

The most unique trees were: Large-leaved Linden (Tilia platyphyllosVitifolia), Small-leaved Gold Lime (Tilia cordata), Green Ash with creamy-white variegated leaves (Fraxinus Pennsylvanica Albomarginata 'Variegata').

Pilkevich Ludmila Stanislavovna

Главная страница - History of city - Sights - The Tyszkiewicz Park in Logoysk

Логойский парк Тышкевичей

Парк закладывался одновременно со строительством дворца: 1814–1819 гг. Пием Тышкевичем. Строительству парка способствовали исторические особенности территории существования замка эпохи Киевской Руси (XI–XII вв.). Он возвышался на высокой (до 25 метров над поймой) террасе реки Гайна. Занимал площадь 1.5 га. В основу планировки положены принципы раскрытия далеких перспектив на реку Гайна и использовании остатков бывших замковых укреплений из рва: в прошлом глубиной — 4–5 метров, шириной — 16–18 метров. Они полукольцом окружали замковый двор.

Давно нарушена старая гидрологическая система. Теперь, после реконструкции, вода в рвы и фонтан подается насосом из Гайны. В наиболее широкой части бывшего рва создан водоем. Вал, поросший деревьями, остается одним из наиболее выразительных элементов парка, по нему проходит тропа с видами на окрестности.

Красочные рамки перспектив образуют деревья, которыми поросли склоны вала. Из северной части вала, в виде острого хребта, открываются виды на центральную часть парка с руинами дворца. Ближе к реке расположен круглый водоем с фонтаном, которым завершается замковый ров. Раньше здесь был водный источник. С другой стороны вала — поляна–котловина, которая образовалась в связи с расширением двора замка. В наше время поляна изменилась из-за посадки канадского, мариландского тополей и клена ясенелистного.

Карта Логойского парка

Карта Логойского парка

Бывший замковый двор сравнительно большой, занимает наиболее высокую часть террасы, которая круто обрывается у поймы. Гребень террасы, срезанный и сильно схваченный корневыми системами старых деревьев. Внизу пойма всегда влажная, поросшая ольхой. Территория двора уютная, благодаря перспективам, визуально связана с Гайной, с Логойском. Акцентом перспектив является Николаевская церковь (1824 год), а далее, на возвышении, в окружении старых кленов виднелся костел: усыпальница Тышкевичей. Здание главным фасадом было ориентировано в сторону парка.

Парк тянулся на 700 метров вдоль правого берега Гайны. Он не имеет четкую композицию, узкая аллея проходит между садами и парками. Она имела двое ворот со сторожками. Одна из сторожек сохранилась.

Сторожка

Магазин «Продукты» в бывшей сторожке

В основу планировки парка положена двулучевая перспектива в сторону реки. Один из них проходил через поляну, которую обрамляли с одной стороны белые тополя, с другой — ели, чем достигался световой эффект. У самой Гайны расположены две полукруглые группы лип, в виде подковы. Около одной была альтана.

Деревянный мост в парке

Старый деревянный парковый мост через реку Гайна

Парковое пространство между поляной на оси дворца чуть приподнято. Его занимали цветочный партер, а ближе к реке — массив деревьев. Это наиболее живописная, хорошо сохранившаяся часть парка. Массив соединяется с посадками вдоль поймы. Здесь был небольшой водоем. Он имел декоративное значение, на берегу была альтана, а рядом стоял небольшой стеклозавод.

Схема парка

Схема парка 1989 г.

От дворца вдоль поймы через деревья проходил прогулочный путь. Его направление было связано также с родниками, которые составляли красоту парка. Никто не знает, сколько их было, говорят, что родников было столько, сколько парковых дорожек. Родники наполняли водой древние рвы, пруд и реку Гайну. Их звучание было слышно по всему парку, источники не просто журчали, они пели. Родниковая вода имела лекарственные качества. Парк был примечателен эксклюзивным разнообразием посадок: около 300 названий деревьев и кустарников. Наиболее уникальными были деревья: липа буйналистная Vitifolia, липа мелколистная золотистая, сохранился ясень пенсильванский с белострекатыми листьями Albоmarginata.

Пилькевич Людмила Станиславовна

Добавить комментарий

Защитный код
Обновить