Welcome to the Virtual Museum of Logoysk!
Why shouldn’t the people, who lived more than a thousand years ago, have chosen this picturesque place on the right bank of the river Gaina to build a settlement? There was a rampart, topped with a citadel and a log wall, just where the Park of the former Tyszkiewicz family manor is situated. Surroundings could be seen for dozens of miles from high hills. It helped Logoysk (Logozhask) to serve as a fortification from invaders, coming from the south, on their way to Polotsk.
The original name of the city is «Logozhsk».
According to the most reasonable opinion that name derives from the name of the river Logoza flowing into the river Hayna and it is formed by adding the suffix «-sk». And in its turn the name «Logoza» is derived from the word «log». It means «lowlands, valley» in Belarusian.
The first historical record of this town took place when the ancient Logoysk was a part of the Principality of Polotsk. Prince of Kiev Vladimir Monomakh wrote in 1078 in his famous Instruction (also known as The Testament):
Burnt earth and conquered lands to Lukoml and Logozhsk.
The next mention of the name „Logozhsk“ took place in 1127 when Monomakh’s grandson organized a great campaign to Polotsk. The squad, consisting of the people from Logozhsk, was captured, and the «frightehed» town surrendered after a
Did you know?..
...председателем какого общества интеллектуалов являлся Евстахий Тышкевич?